Chasing Atlanta ** Stick 101** Post – Free Giveaway!

19 Sep
This post is a copied post from Leah of Chasing Atlanta.  Leah is a massage therapist and an avid runner in Clarkston, MI, USA.  She is also a huge advocate of The Stick.

As you may have figured by the amount of times I mention it, I’m a big proponent of the self-massage tool known as the Stick. It’s one of my can’t live without running essentials, and I also recommend it to my massage clients all the time. I’ve had the opportunity to work the Stick booth at a few race expos and I thought I’d share a little Stick 101 before getting to the details of my giveaway of, yes, you guessed it, a Stick!
The picture above shows my own Stick family, of which each piece has it’s own role. The gray-handled Sprinter Stick is my go-to Stick for day-to-day maintenance. This is the one I use most often before and after my runs and it’s also the one that I travel with, whether to a local or out of town race or just to the track. The Sprinter Stick is the top seller at expos and is of medium flexibility. The stiffer the Stick the deeper the massage.
Speaking of stiffness, the longer black-handled Stick above is the Stiff Stick, the big daddy, the stiffest of Sticks. This is the one I use when I need some really deep work. It’s the second most popular model at expos and great for those with denser muscle mass and/or those who prefer deeper tissue massage.
The Travel Stick (red handles above) is sort of the red-headed stepchild of my Stick family in that it often gets neglected. This was my first Stick and I bought it before I knew there were other models. The Travel Stick is more flexible and generally doesn’t have enough oomph for me. It isn’t all that much smaller than the Sprinter so it’s size isn’t really an advantage. I tend to use this one only when my muscles are super, super tender. It’s unfortunate, but a lot of specialty running stores and online retailers only carry the Travel Stick and the ill-named, yellow-handled Marathon Stick (not pictured, the softest Stick of the lot). These are the two Sticks we sell the least of at expos. In fact, I’ve never sold one of either.
The smaller black-handled Stick in the picture is my Little Stick. I love this Stick and think of it as the over-achiever of the family. It’s lack of length makes it less than ideal for bigger muscle groups such as hamstrings and quadriceps, but since it’s so short it isn’t very flexible. Consequently, you can do some really thorough work on smaller areas such as calves and IT bands. This Stick is great for on-the-go work. Last week when my calf was in such bad shape I tossed it into my purse and took it to work with me. I also like to stash my Little Stick in my gear check bag so I’ll have it right up to a race and immediately afterwards.
There are longer Sticks available for those who want to do a lot of upper body work and need the extra reach. Of the longer Sticks, the Body Stick is more flexible and the Power Stick is stiffer. The Foot Wheel is a great tool for plantar fasciitis and other foot issues and the Trigger Wheel helps with those pesky shoulder knots and tight neck muscles. You can find out more about these and all the Stick products here.
Before I get to the giveaway I wanted to address one other issue, since it’s the most common question I get at expos: “What makes this better than a foam roller?” The Stick isn’t necessarily better than a foam roller, but they do work in different ways. I have a foam roller also and I love it, but I feel the Stick has some distinct advantages, aside from the obvious portability and contortion issues. A foam roller is great for quads and IT bands, but I find the Stick is better at getting at trickier muscles such as the hip flexors, adductors and tibialis anterior. Also, since you’re using your own body weight with a foam roller the pressure is never really going to change. With the Stick you can use as much or as little pressure as you want.
Okay, giveaway time!
I have up for grabs a Little Stick! Here’s how to enter:
  • Become a follower and leave a comment on this post to let me know you have (or let me know if you are already a follower). – Chasing Atlanta
  • Also let me know in your comment if you’ve ever used the Stick before. If so, which one?
For a bonus entry:
  • Link this giveaway on your own blog, facebook, etc. and post another comment letting me know.
Entry deadline is Wednesday, September 29th. The winner will be chosen randomly and announced on Thursday, September 30th.
– Posted by Leah
I will also honor this post by giving away a Little Stick to our Canadian readers.  All you need to do is make a comment on this post about why you “like” The Stick or if you have never used The Stick before, why you think you may “like” the Stick.  Speaking of “liking” the Stick, I also have a Facebook page that you may want to “like”  the Stick!

10 Responses to “Chasing Atlanta ** Stick 101** Post – Free Giveaway!”

  1. John Hagin September 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I have had the Stick for 3 years now. In fact I have 3 of them; body, sprinter and the little stick. I must admit that for the first 2 years I did not believe they worked. This year I discovered that if I go real slow with as much pressure as I can apply they do wonders. In fact I have been running over 40 years, almost everyday and race 5k’s, 10k’s, 1/2 marathons, marathons, 50k’s 50 mile, 100 mile, 12hr and 24hr races. I learned how to us it from a Rolfer who gave me deep muscular manipulation and massage. Rolling it 20 or 30 times lightly did not work for me, but 2 to 3 time very slow using very hard pressure on trigger points has been fantastic. It has cured my heel pain which I have had for years. I use the stick 2 to 3 times a day. Please tell others how to use the stick correctly, as either the people selling them at expose do not know or I did not understand how to use it in my situation. Thanks for the Sick!

  2. Ken September 19, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Hi John, thanks for your comments and tips. I like your honesty as well. Your method of slow deep passes is excellent. I often show people many different ways of using The Stick.

  3. Sandi September 19, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I have the marathon stick. It’s been the greatest companion for every crazy Ragnar I put my legs through. Thanks for showing the Stiff Stick. I haven’t seen that one at our local running stores. I’m very interested!

  4. Ken September 19, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    Hi Sandi, The Stiff Stick really is stiff! It is a very robust stick. In fact, it is the complete opposite of the Marathon Stick.

  5. Suzanne Belanger September 27, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    Love the stick! It loosens tight leg muscles and prevents fasciaitis. Been using it for 6 months on muscles that were threatening to sieze once and for all and have been able to keep running and biking. Tip: Use it everyday,at least once in the morning and once in the evening and apply enough pressure to feel the tenderness of the tight spot or trigger point and the subsequent release. Ahh!

  6. Ken September 27, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Great tip Suzanne!

  7. Sandi October 1, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    Who was the winner?

  8. Ken October 3, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    And the winner is……. (We picked numbers out of a hat) – JOHN HAGIN!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Chasing Atlanta ** Stick 101** Post – Free Giveaway! « The Stick & Zealous Vitality Inc. -- Topsy.com - September 20, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ken Zelez, Ken Zelez. Ken Zelez said: New Post: Chasing Atlanta ** Stick 101** Post – Free Giveaway! http://bit.ly/bEMNbI […]

  2. 2010 in Review « The Stick & Zealous Vitality Inc. - January 2, 2011

    […] The busiest day of the year was September 26th with 60 views. The most popular post that day was Chasing Atlanta ** Stick 101** Post – Free Giveaway!.  […]

Leave a Reply

